AA 4 star bed and breakfast Devon Reviews


The reviews and testimonials featured on my website are genuine and written by “real” customers. I have selected a range of quotes from tripadvisor.co.uk and other sites and the hard part was editing them down to a manageable size. Why not view them on the tripadvisor website and find out more about customer reports on Lobhill Farmhouse. I’m very proud to say that our overall rating is ‘excellent’, the highest mark!

PLEASE CLICK HERE TO POST A REVIEW ON GOOGLE

What our customers think…

Massive full English Good night's sleep Large room with good facilities Thanks Jane

Tristan
November 2020 | Google

It was the comfiest bed I've ever slept in whilst away. Everything was great, we've made a note to book again if working in the area.

Anon
November 2020 | Booking.com

“Superb. We loved the farm house, decor and friendly welcome. The room was so comfortable and super clean, breakfast was always such a treat. I would highly recommend Jane as a host and would definitely stay again.”

Mel
October 2020 | AirBnB

“Simply stunning and fabulous breakfast”

Jacqui
October 2020 | AirBnB

“Such a great place to stay and delicious breakfast . Jane is the perfect host .”

Jan and Niall
October 2020 | AirBnB

We stayed here for 2 nights for my sisters wedding- just before lockdown 2 was announced!
It was a fab weekend and Jane was so hospitable to us all. Breakfasts were delicious, the rooms very clean and comfortable and we very much appreciated her patience and kindness!
Would have loved to have spent a bit more time enjoying the place! Thank you Jane!

PixAbroad
November 2020 | TripAdvisor

Fabulous location, superb accommodation and great breakfast.
The location of Lobhill Farm is outstanding. Such beautiful views of the surrounding countryside and vineyard. A great place to explore the local area and beyond. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and was really enjoyed by us all. Would love to revisit. Thank you for a lovely stay.
Everything was perfect.

Lisa
October 2020 | Booking.com

A little gem in the heart of Devon!
If you want an 'Escape to the Country' break, look no further than Lobhill Stable self catering Cottage. Beautifully furnished, with home from home comforts, set in a stunning, peaceful location and a perfect base from which to explore all the delights of Devon. Jane is a very friendly and welcoming host and the bottle of award-winning wine (from the family's own vineyard - definitely worth a visit), along with the home made fudge were greatly appreciated. Enjoyed fabulous meals at the Castle Inn, Lydford and Bearslake Inn (both recommended by Jane). We will definitely return and look forward to sampling Jane's breakfasts!

Christine
October 2020 | TripAdvisor

A little gem in the heart of Devon
This idyllic cottage is set in beautiful surroundings and a great base to explore the delights of Devon. Jane is a very friendly and welcoming host and the cottage offered home from home comforts.

Christine
October 2020 | Booking.com

An excellent break, restful and very enjoyable.
Spotlessly clean Very good COVID-19 system in [email protected] Excellent breakfasts Very comfortable bed Lovely host (Jane) -courteous, helpful
The directional signage On the main road could be more prominent

Caroline
October 2020 | Booking.com

Beautiful B and B lovely hosts .
Quiet country location. Lovely breakfast . Homemade bread and preserves. Full English superb .
Nothing could have been better.

John
October 2020 | Booking.com

“Peaceful, clean, friendly accommodation. Within easy reach of many sights. Great spot for recuperating.”
“Thank you Jane, for making our break peaceful, restful and uncomplicated. A much needed break.”

Yvette
October 2020 | AirBnB

Fantastic location. Jane was so helpful and could it do enough for us

Eugene
October 2019 | Booking.com

What a lovely place
Stunning environment. Lovely greeting from a VERY LOVELY lady and what a breakfast. Room was spotless and well presented. Very nice place to wake on a morning

Nex - UK
October 2020 | Booking.com

"Amazing value, perfect location"
Wonderful experience, immaculate and attractive accommodation, excellent breakfast, friendly host

Angela
October 2020 | Eviivo

Amazing, beautiful location and accommodation
Wonderful experience, immaculate and attractive accommodation, excellent breakfast, friendly host, Jane. Excellent location and value for money. Will definitely be staying again in the future. The best B&B we have ever stayed in. Thank you Jane.

Angela
October 2020 | TripAdvisor

Wonderful experience, immaculate and attractive accommodation, excellent breakfast, friendly host, Jane. Excellent location and value for money. Will definitely be staying again in the future. The best B&B we have ever stayed in. Thank you Jane.

Angela
October 2019 | Google

Excellent stay, great find
Host was very friendly and ensure Covid precautions were all in place - we felt very safe. The room was fabulous, the photos do not do it justice. The beds were very comfortable and there was lots of room in both the bedroom and bathroom. We particularly liked the range of teas provided, not to mention the fudge.

Kelly
October 2020 | Booking.com

“I cannot find anything negative at all to say about Jane’s place. It is an impressive building in a beautiful setting. Our room was as lovely as the photo. It was spotlessly clean. Jane is a perfect host and the breakfast was first class. Would thoroughly recommend to other visitors.”

Charles
September 2020 | Airbnb

“We really enjoyed our long weekend at Lobhill Farmhouse. The cottage and grounds are lovely and peaceful, the hosts are friendly and accommodating. When we had problems with our car they even helped us with advice and offers of assistance. A great place to stay!”

Sandrine
September 2020 | Airbnb

Great place, loved everything about it. Reasonably priced. If in that area, would definitely stay there again

Birgit
October 2020 | Booking.com

Outstanding, will definitely stay again
Breakfast delicious, went extra mile. Beautiful surroundings. Covid safe.

David
September 2020 | Booking.com

Excellent in every way. Thank you

Jamie
October 2020 | Booking.com

Just had the most lovely and restful stay in the stable cottage at lobhill...comfortable, cosy and spotlessly clean. Jane makes sure we have everything we need....forgot to bring marmalade...no problem, have home made on the house...a lovely place to spend my 60TH birthday..Thank you Jane...you are the best See you again soon Jacqui David, Geoff and Pipxxxx

David
September 2020 | Google

"Perfect!"
What an absolutely beautiful place. Jane’s attention to detail means that everywhere you look you notice a gorgeous picture or antique. Our room was perfect, large comfortable bed, en-suite with both shower and bath and a door leading out to a balcony where you can sit and look over the grounds and woodland. Breakfast cooked to order whilst sitting in the traditional country kitchen was delicious.
Measures have been sensibly and clearly put in place to keep guests safe whilst COVID is still around.
I would definitely come back and recommend such a lovely place 🙂

Lozznozz
September 2020 | TripAdvisor

"My friend and I stayed 2 nights this week at Lobhill Farmhouse"
Jane has responded to Covid with strong infection control which is reassuring for all. She greeted us in a visor, took our temperatures on arrival and sanitiser was at the entrance for use on arrival and leaving the house. Masks were worn except when sat at the table for breakfast. We had a very comfortable en suite room with wonderful view across the Lew valley. The lovely gardens and surrounding woodland are extensive so walks are on offer. Breakfast was very good. We particularly liked the yoghurt, fresh fruit and local honey. I also bought a bottle of wine which came from the neighbouring vineyard. We had tea at the cafe there the previous day. After our departure, we visited Lydford - an interesting place with Saxon castle and Gorge. Pre-booking with the National Trust is currently required to visit the gorge and waterfall so we didn't manage to see them.

Sally
September 2020 | TripAdvisor

"A 60th birthday get away treat"
We stayed in the stable cottage, which is beautiful. Cosy, clean and tucked away, so peaceful. Jane made us feel very welcome.
We forgot our marmalade so pinged Jane and within minutes home made marmalade AND jam delivered to the door!
The gardens and Woodlands are a pleasure to wander in...and our two young labs thoroughly enjoyed their time running around.
Jane has excellent knowledge of local places to visit which gave us the chance to take a walk through the beautiful woodlands at Lydford. We will definitely go back again.

David
September 2020 | TripAdvisor

Yummy breakfast, very pleasant hostess!!

Christine
September 2020 | Booking.com

Beautiful surroundings with wooded area in the grounds for walking. The room was lovely and clean with a great en-suite which included a bath and shower with plenty of room. Bed very comfortable. A good selection of tea and coffee in the room with fresh milk and water available, the dish of fudge was a really lovely bonus. Jane took every care to ensure that we were covid-19 secure without making the experience a chore. Breakfast was very tasty, would definitely recommend anyone to stay here and hope to be back soon.

Annette
September 2020 | Booking.com

Wonderful. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Visited during Covid measures. Couldn’t have been better handled and helped us relax in the beautiful surroundings and comfortable room. Breakfast was perfect.

Ben
September 2020 | Booking.com

Superb service,breakfast was
Attention to detail, the little things for example home made fudge in the room, but the cleanliness and attention to detail in terms of COVID was superb and unrivalled anywhere else we stayed (we stayed in 6 properties over 10 days)

Matt
September 2020 | Booking.com

Beautifully presented, cosy, spotless and had everything you could need

Michele
September 2020 | Booking.com


Ticked all the boxes
"Just returned from 4 night stay at this lovely B&B. Great facilities, very welcoming & a super breakfast to set you up for the day. Excellent location to visit the various attractions. The hosts were extremely helpful and couldn't fault the service. Would most definitely recommend & go back again for another stay."

Claire P
September 2020 | Booking.com

The Very Best in Bed and Breakfast
During a staycation in Devon we were very fortunate to book a night at Lobhill Farmhouse. As you approach the house from the main road you cannot fail to be impressed with the building. The grounds including a vineyard and wonderful woodlands are enchanting. The fabulous host Jane was on hand to ensure our stay was the very best. She has fully handled the Covid safety regulations and it doesn’t negatively impact on the stay. The room was spotless and had all the features you could possibly require. The breakfast was first class and Jane couldn’t do enough for us. English Bed and Breakfast does not get any better than this. Thoroughly recommended to all and we will definitely be returning during our next staycation.

Charles
September 2020 | Airbnb

A nice break in a fairly long journey to the far west.
The breakfast was very enjoyable with a good choice of both hot and cold food, just right to set you up for a days enjoyment of the surrounding countryside .

Derek
September 2020 | Booking.com

"A very comfortable stay"
We really enjoyed our stay with Jane. She made us very welcome and even gave us a lift and back to the pub where we had booked for dinner. Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely breakfast and would certainly visit again if in the area.

Dorothy
September 2020 | Eviivo

“Lovely peaceful location with a great breakfast!”

Karen
September 2020 | Airbnb

Summer holiday
I have just returned from this lovely place. The hosts were very welcoming and very helpful. We stayed in the self catering cottage which was lovely and well furnished. We booked breakfast which was brought over to the cottage and was excellent. The owners also have a local vineyard and we had a bottle of their excellent white wine. I am not usually a wine drinker but theirs was excellent and I bought some bottles to bring home. All in all I had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and this definitely made up for us not being able to go to Croatia in May. I would highly recommend this place.

Angela
September 2020 | TripAdvisor

Brilliant location, clean and well furnished.
The cottage was well furnished and comfortable. The area is very peaceful and relaxing. The host provided a bottle of wine from their nearby vineyard which was excellent and well worth purchasing some to take home. All in all a lovely holiday.

Angela
September 2020 | Booking.com

The perfect weekend
We stayed here for 2 nights. An absolutely beautiful place to stay. Jane is a wonderful host. The breakfast is delicious and served in a gorgeous farmhouse kitchen. The Green Room is beautifully decorated, spacious and so clean with relaxing views over the gardens and woodland beyond. We have had a perfect weekend and made even more special as we got engaged on our trip. Will definitely be coming back. Thank you Jane and family for a lovely relaxing weekend staying in your gorgeous B&B.

Natalie
September 2020 | TripAdvisor

Perfect place to stay
Such a wonderful, welcoming, relaxing place to stay. Jane is a lovely host. Brilliant tasty breakfasts. Comfortable spacious and well decorated rooms. Perfect place to stay

Natalie
September 2020 | Booking.com

“Wonderful private and quiet place with gorgeous surroundings, very spacious room with spacious bathroom - sparkling clean! Lovely tea selection and super yummy fudge provided in the room as well. Great breakfast options and breakfast itself was delicious and filling to the max in wonderful old style kitchen setting and pottery. One tiny downside was that you could hear everything from the room next door. However, we wouldn’t hesitate to come back and are sorry to stay only for 1 night! Thank you Jane for great care and hospitality even during this difficult times ”

Veronika
September 2020 | Airbnb

What a stunning place. Set in the most beautiful setting even with access to a wooded area for a morning walk. The room was spacious and very clean even with a little surprise of fudge on arrival which was delicious. Jane was very welcoming and made us both feel right at home. Couldn't recommend Lobhill Farmhouse enough. We will be back.

Simon
September 2020 | Google

Wow what a place. Stunning location. Very beautiful. Rooms are lovely and the fudge was a very welcome surprise and delicious. Very friendly welcome from Jane. We are already looking forward to breakfast. 5*

Simon
September 2020 | Facebook

Excellent. Very relaxing and comfortable stay very homely too.
Jane greeted us with a smile and was very polite all measures in place to make sure it was safe for covid. The grounds and views were amazing bonus having a summer house my little girl really enjoyed having tea in there. The breakfast was brilliant really enjoyed it and plenty of food cooked great. the location was great a little out from everything to escape the craziness of day to day life but close enough to enjoy your time.

Cheralee
September 2020 | Booking.com

Homely and comfortable
Excellent breakfast,well cooked and presented.I loved the vintage pieces of china.The bedroom and bathroom were very tastefully decorated and comfortable and everything that we needed was provided,even down to a choice of teas and coffees.

Frances
September 2020 | Booking.com

A perfect stay!
"Myself and family, 8 of us in total plus dog, stayed here for two nights at the beginning of September. Well what can I say! Lobhill is set in the most gorgeous location, the gardens are beautiful and they lead straight into a magical woodland, which was lovely for those morning walks with the dog. If you are staying here a walk through them is a must. Jane is the most organised and friendly host, the cream tea on arrival was absolutely delicious as the the hearty cooked breakfast. All the rooms are pristine, I was in the green room and what a room, with a bath and shower and views over the gardens and summerhouse. It also has a balcony on which to enjoy those early morning cuppas! Jane also recommended a local pub for our evening meals. All I can say is this B&B comes highly recommended and we would certainly return in the future, perhaps for longer next time. We all had a lovely time and thank you Jane for such a lovely stay."

Nicola
September 2020 | TripAdvisor

Delightful stopover
We booked at the last minute to break our journey. We were delighted with the room and the hospitality offered by Jane. It made our stopover part of our holiday and we got tips on great walks and restaurants and pubs.

Liz
September 2020 | TripAdvisor

Lovely stay and I wish we could have stayed longer
Huge room with patio area outside in a lovely garden with extensive woodland which was great for an early morning walk with the dog. Breakfasts were delicious and had a great choice. Brilliant tips for walks and coast. It is a labour of love for Jane and it shows!

Liz
September 2020 | Booking.com

Superb break
Right from the booking time we felt special with excellent communication.Our room was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean with a very tasteful and roomy ensuite bathroom,the bedroom refreshment tray was varied and creatively displayed.The breakfasts were excellent and prepared to order.The garden and walks in the grounds are beautiful .We both felt very spoilt and benefitted from our break.Lobhill is near some very interesting places to visit in the days and several good pubs to have evening meals.We would like to come back here again.Jane is very gifted in hospitality and ensuring our break went so well,thank you very much !David and Mandy Fletchery

David and Mandy
September 2020 | TripAdvisor

Quiet, calm and lovely breakfast! Perfect stay in the Blue Room with my two dogs!

Jessie
September 2020 | Booking.com

The house, gardens and surrounding area is as beautiful as it gets.
Fantastic breakfast. The dining/kitchen area is gorgeous. Plenty of space. Food is thoughtfully put together and cooked perfectly. I have run a 5* hotel kitchen and this was up there for top B&B breakfasts. I was Also particularly happy with the happy and interesting decor.

Zoe
September 2020 | Booking.com

We would definitely stay again
Our stay at Lobhill farmhouse, Jane made us feel very welcome. All the Covid 19 precautions were in place and we felt completely safe. Our room was clean and all aspects of our stay were catered for. The Pre Booked breakfast was great, we have never had to pre book before at a b and b, but this did not impact on our breakfast experience.

Christine
September 2020 | Booking.com

Beautiful and extremely clean b & b situated in a lovely quiet area of Devon. Breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice. We will definitely stay again, when we are next in the area. Thank you Jane.

Martin
September 2020 | Booking.com

Friendly host, lovely quiet spot, beautiful grounds, lovely breakfast, good value for money, free parking, lovely touches such as a range of local teas and a pot of fudge.
We found the mattress a little too soft for our liking as we rolled toward the middle of the bed. Bathroom sink very small. Better for early nights/early risers due to other guests talking loudly in the breakfast room below the bedroom.

Camilla
September 2020 | Booking.com

Lovely farmhouse in Dartmoor. Jane was very helpful

Paul
September 2020 | Booking.com

Short break for walking in Dartmoor.
Comfy bed, big bathtub, lovely outdoor seating area, delicious breakfast and friendly hosts.

Lynne
September 2020 | Eviivo

This is the best B&B we have ever experienced. We stayed for one night on our way down to Land’s End Airport on our way to the Scillies, and again on our way back, also for one night. Our return flight was cancelled due to poor visibility, meaning we had to take a three-hour boat journey to Penzance instead. By the time we were transported back to the airport to pick up our car, we knew it was going to be a very late arrival at Lobhill. We texted Jane, the owner, to let her know, and her kind and calm positive response took away the stress!

The guesthouse is set in glorious grounds and location, and the rooms are a delight, even with Covid ramifications. Jane is so hospitable and she cooked a real farmhouse breakfast in the lovely country kitchen. It was the best food we’d eaten on the whole two-week trip.

When we departed we didn’t get chance to say cheerio, but Jane even texted us to say thanks for staying and hoped to see us again. Top notch hospitality all the way.

Speedy1
September 2020 | TripAdvisor

"Top Notch"
By far the best B&B we’ve ever stayed in. Jane the owner was the most delightful host. Even when our flight was cancelled and we didn’t get to the accommodation until 10 pm, Jane was kind and considerate, and took the stress out of our delay.
Beautiful location. Exceptional service, with very lovely rooms. Cleanliness first class. Jane was so friendly, without being intrusive. The breakfast was top notch.

Elizabeth
September 2020 | Eviivo

Everything perfect, beautiful surroundings, room lovely and clean. Jane couldn't do anymore to make it better, breakfast amazing, definitely recommend anyone to stay here. Just lovely. Thank you David and Tracy.

Kool41T
September 2020 | Booking.com


AA 4 star bed and breakfast Devon Reviews:

Are you looking for a Devon AA 4 star bed and breakfast near Okehampton, Launceston, Tavistock and Dartmoor? I also have Self Catering Holiday Cottage Accommodation near Dartmoor on the Lobhill Estate.

Copyright © 2020 Lobhill Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast Devon