AA 4 star bed and breakfast Devon Reviews


The reviews and testimonials featured on my website are genuine and written by “real” customers. I have selected a range of quotes from tripadvisor.co.uk and other sites and the hard part was editing them down to a manageable size. Why not view them on the tripadvisor website and find out more about customer reports on Lobhill Farmhouse. I’m very proud to say that our overall rating is ‘excellent’, the highest mark!

PLEASE CLICK HERE TO POST A REVIEW ON GOOGLE

What our customers think…

Perfect in every way
I have just stayed at Lobhill Farmhouse when attending a wedding nearby. What a beautiful place. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and the gardens and ground are so pretty and quiet I would have happily just lazed the day away there. Breakfast was freshly cooked by Jane the owner who went out of her way to make sure everything was to our liking.The best touch of all was the fact she made my room ready for when I arrived back from the wedding, blinds drawn, bedside light on and a little flask of milk for my coffee. A perfect location to explore both Cornwall and Devon. Jane the place is a credit to you and thank you for a great stay.

Ian
May 2019 | TripAdvisor

Great place to stay friendly, good food I would highly recommend

Brian
May 2019 | Google

"Premium Bed & Breakfast, Beautiful Surrounding with Fantastic Host"
I do not intend to labour this review but simply wish to say that I cannot think of a single aspect of our stay at Lobhill Farm B&B which could be in the slightest way negative. We are walking the length of the UK and this was our 13th stop. It is by far the best accommodation we have stayed at and will be surprised if we find anything on a par with this place. The owner, Jane, was a great host and sought to ensure we had everything we needed for our stay. Top marks in all respects 🙂

StephenJ58
May 2019 | TripAdvisor

Had a lovely time at Lobhill Farmhouse Bnb over the last two days with my girlfriend. Jane was very welcoming with her cookies and fudge and useful advice. The room and bathroom were very clean and spacious, with a great view over the garden and summerhouse. Breakfast was delicious with a wide choice of food on offer from yoghurt to your English breakfast, croissants and toast. In the morning we went for a lovely walk out into the wood next door which consisted of beautiful bluebells and a very nice pond (see photos). We were offered the chance to visit the vineyard next door and lake, however unfortunately we didn't have time. I would definitely recommend this place as a base for a relaxing weekend in Devon.

Benjamin
May 2019 | Google

Beautiful house, lovely decor, comfortable and in lovely grounds.
It was perfect!

Anon
May 2019 | Booking.com

Friendly warm hospitality in a beautiful accommodation
Beautiful relaxing accommodation. Very clean presentation and the bed was so comfortable. Friendly host a beautiful place to stay in lovely countryside surroundings.

Jane
May 2019 | Booking.com

We have just returned from two wonderful days spent at Lobhill Farmhouse B&B. I can only echo the positive comments of all of the other reviewers. Jane and Adrian are charming people - you receive a lovely warm welcome as soon as you arrive and that continues throughout the duration of your stay: they strike the balance between being attentive but not intrusive. The lovely touches such as homemade biscuits, fudge, fresh flowers in the room and attention to detail really make this a special place to stay. Tips: take some shoes suitable for walking around their grounds and those of their family which adjoin. Visit the family vineyard to taste and - like us - buy some fabulous wines (and gins!) to take home. Thank you to all of the family members that we met during our stay.

Linda
April 2019 | Google

It was absolutely beautiful
Everything. Jane was absolutely the best and greeted us with homemade fudge in our room and shortly after, brought up homemade biscuits still warm from the oven. What can I say?

Eileen
April 2019 | Booking.com

A beautiful farmhouse B&B in a beautiful setting with very friendly owners.
Jane was extremely helpful and very welcoming.

Julie
April 2019 | Booking.com

Excellent overnight stay
Our overnight stay at Lobhill Farmhouse on the way to Cornwall was a wonderful experience. A lovely warm welcome from Jane, the owner, who provided warm biscuits and delicious fudge!!!!. Beautiful clean room with white linen, very comfortable bed and overlooking Jane's lovely garden and woods beyond. We went for a good walk around the vineyard and lake which have beautiful views. We had a delicious breakfast and will definitely stay again. Jane is a very friendly host and we would highly recommend staying here.

norfolkcouple10
April 2019 | TripAdvisor

Lovely stay at Lobhill Cottage. Very comfortable and clean. Well equipped. Thanks Jane.

Maria
April 2019 | AirBnB

Absolutely perfect!
Perfect location, fantastic breakfast, very clean, much better than advertised and Jane is a fantastic host!

Bart
April 2019 | Booking.com

Natura e relax
Bellissima struttura, famigliare, pulita, accogliente. Ottima padrona di casa, molto gentile e disponibile. Consigliatissimo a chi piace la natura e il relax. Ottima posizione per visitare il parco di Lydford!

Verominnu
April 2019 | Booking.com

Excellent Easter break. Peace and quiet- woodland walk to the family vineyard was fantastic !! Lots of local pubs and within easy reach of dome amazing beaches. Highly recommended

Alan
April 2019 | AirBnB


Warm and welcoming – feels like home
Our three-night stay here was absolutely wonderful--we couldn't recommended Lobhill Farmhouse more highly!

Jane was so warm and welcoming; she immediately felt like someone we had known for a long time. She made our stay comfortable and cozy in every way, and the breakfasts we had were fantastic.

The house is beautiful and our room was bright, clean, and spacious. Special note that the water pressure in the shower was great! Always a plus. The grounds are also gorgeous and we enjoyed an excellent walk one day.

We both felt completely refreshed after our stay; hopefully it's not too long before we're back in the area and can enjoy another quiet, relaxing getaway here.

Tom
April 2019 | TripAdvisor

“The cottage was perfect. Spotlessly clean, well equipped, warm and in good location. Jane was a great host and would not hesitate to recommend the cottage.”

Debbie
April 2019 | AirBnB

We stayed at Lobhill Farmhouse for one night whilst walking the Two Castles Trail. An excellent stay in all respects - a warm welcome, beautiful gardens and lovely fresh breakfast. Will revisit in the future and would highly recommend.

Okehampton Hiker
March 2019 | TripAdvisor

I stayed at Jane’s whilst attending a dog training course and the house was perfect for our needs! Lovely walks right from your door step, great kitchen facilities and lovely comfy living spaces. Would 100% stay again!

Jen
March 2019 | AirBnB

Attentive host and very beautiful place
This was my first time in a bed and breakfast only used to chain hotels. This was fabulous if I return I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Anon
March 2018 | Expedia

Lovely farmhouse and location
Wonderful stay at this farmhouse despite the snow and freezing weather. First class hosts. Wonderful breakfast made to order. Ten out of ten from me

Timothy
March 2018 | Expedia

Lovely farmhouse and location
Wonderful stay at this farmhouse despite the snow and freezing weather. First class hosts. Wonderful breakfast made to order. Ten out of ten from me

Timothy
March 2018 | Expedia

A lovely B and B with superb views
We stayed in this lovely B and B and enjoyed a walk through local woods after breakfast.

Liz
July 2018 | Expedia

Excellent
Lovely setting. Spacious room. Lots of character. Friendly and welcoming host.

Anon
August 2018 | Expedia

Wonderful Host
Jane is a wonderful host and went the extra mile to ensure my stay was comfortable and relaxed. The breakfast was great and she catered for my specific dietary needs with no hesitation. Whilst in the area Jane pointed me in the direction of some lovely things to do and it was nice to meet some of the other guests during breakfast who are returning customers and it's clear to see why people want to return! Thank you for a wonderful stay I will definitely stay if I'm in the area again.

Alice
October 2018 | Expedia

A perfect stay, extremely comfortable and immaculately clean
The welcome we received from Jane was lovely, the room was immaculate and extremely comfortable and the breakfast cooked to order and delicious.. It was a perfect stay.

Candy
March 2019 | Booking.com

“Perfect in every way, great location to have a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings. Thank you.”

Mark
March 2019 | AirBnB

Lovely place
We visited for a short, late notice two night stay with our dog and stayed in the self catering cottage. The location is great with plenty of walks right your doorstep. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great when we were there so we didn't take full advantage of them. Highly recommended, thanks.

Samsonjh
January 2019 | TripAdvisor

A fantastic find which I would love to go back to if I'm in the area
This is a gem of a place, I was offered fresh milk for a cuppa on arrival together with homemade biscuits still warm from the oven and breakfast was superb too.

Liz
November 2018 | Booking.com

Lovely farmhouse and grounds, enjoy the relaxing atmosphere created here

AA Inspector

AA Inspector
November 2018 | AA

A lovely cosy little cottage. We loved it as a young couple looking to get away to the countryside. Jane is super friendly and knows exactly what she is doing with guests. Lovely place, lovely host and lovely location. Would definitely recommend

Megan
November 2018 | AirBnB

We had a great stay at Jane’s cottage and would highly recommend the accommodation and Jane as a host.

Kristian
November 2018 | AirBnB

Great place - definitely worth going!! Perfectly located at the edge of Dartmoor and furnitured with love to detail. We had everything we needed in this accommodation and Jane was really friendly and welcoming!

Leonie
November 2018 | AirBnB

Very enjoyable, just wish we had been able to stay longer and explore the area more.
The surrounding garden with woodland/vineyard was lovely to walk in. We will return.

Margaret
October 2018 | Booking.com

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Jane's property. Very clean and comfortable especially the bed ! Thoughtful touches like homemade fudge and milk and water in the fridge. Jane was very informative of the area which was very helpful and it’s beautifully situated for Dartmoor and Lydford Gorge. Fabulous walk around the woods and vineyard was icing on the cake . Will definitely be back.

Mandy
October 2018 | AirBnB

Excellent!
Jane was very friendly and considerated home owner. I travelled with a disabled friend and the whole trip was smooth and accessible. Though, the friendly hospitality but we have space and privacy.

Ace
September 2018 | Booking.com

"Excellent choice for an overnight stay."
Overnight stay whilst en-route from a holiday in Devon to one in Cornwall.
A very friendly welcome from the owner upon arrival. This was followed by a much appreciated drink and freshly baked biscuits. A very nice room, a pity that we were only staying for the one night.

David
September 2018 | Eviivo

"Absolutely brilliant in all respects. Very welcoming"
The reason for our stay was to attend a family wedding locally. We were completely satisfied with the whole weekend.
The accommodation was as good as any hotel, but with the advantage of feeling like a family home, which it is.
Small details were added and personal touches as well. Breakfast was delicious

Nicky
September 2018 | Eviivo

We had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at Lobhill Farmhouse, and would love to stay there again one
The family room we stayed in was very spacious and well equipped, beautifully decorated and furnished, and the welcoming touches, like the home-made fudge in a little dish by the kettle, and some home-made cookies which were brought in with a jug of milk on arrival, made it extra-special

David
September 2018 | Booking.com

Lobhill Self Catering Cottage.
A lovely place in a wonderful location. The welcome was great as was the accommodation - just perfect for what we were looking for.

Mervyn
September 2018 | AirBnB

Lovely location, great rooms, helpful and welcoming hosts, awesome breakfast.

Andrew
September 2018 | Booking.com

オーナーの優しい雰囲気そのままのFarmhouseでした。食堂のインテリアが素敵でした。到着してすぐに焼き立てのクッキーをいただいたり、冷たい水が用意されていたり、心遣いにほっこりしました。そして、かわいいフレンドリーな猫にとっても癒されました。私たちはいただかなかったのですが、夕食も用意していただけるようでした。 朝食はとてもおいしかったです。

Yuko
September 2018 | Booking.com

Jane was a very nice host. She was quite helpful with suggestions and directions to our desired sites. The farm was very quiet and offered a pleasant walk to the vineyard and surrounding garden areas.

William
September 2018 | Booking.com

Great stay, spotlessly clean, very friendly and the little cottage was perfect for our short two-night visit, but we would have been very happy to stay longer.

Liz
September 2018 | AirBnB

Lovely and quiet surrounded by lovely walks very dog friendly Comfy bed I slept like a log and such a good price

Heather
September 2018 | AirBnB

We booked Jane's cottage for four nights, Jane greated us on arrival, went through all information we needed, left us to our stay but if we needed anything her door was always open. Lovely comfortable cottage with everything you would need. Would consider going back for another stay.

Lisa
September 2018 | AirBnB

"Comfortable and welcoming overnight stay"
Second time staying at Lobhill, and again, a lovely welcome and comfortable and clean room.
Comfortable bed and good breakfast on offer in the morning. Welcoming and relaxing place to stay in a lovely setting.

Alice
September 2018 | Eviivo

Very friendly host. Got fresh water and fresh milk at our arrival. Breakfast was very delicious! Got a quick and helpful overview on restaurants and day - trips in a file. Absolutely fantastic countryside.
To me the mattress was little uncomfortable because I'm sleeping on my front side. So I had to use another pillow beneath my belly.

Silke
August 2018 | Booking.com

Great value, excellent location, very friendly and welcoming owner.
Lovely setting and met with by welcoming smiling lady! Very clean and comfortable room with good facilities. Super breakfast and offered a good choice of options.

Wendy
September 2018 | Booking.com

“Jane made us very welcome. The gorgeous cottage is clean and cosy. Thank you Jane”

Betsy
August 2018 | AirBnB

Fabulous!
I loved everything, welcome, food, room, decor... did I mention food!
I loved this place!

Elizabeth
August 2018 | Booking.com

This is a comfortable, quiet cottage on the edge of Dartmoor, part of a B&B overlooking rolling green hills. From Lewdown, it is easy driving to the historic towns of Launceston, Tavistock, Exeter, and the coast of Cornwall. We had a lovely few days.

Antonia
August 2018 | AirBnB

Fabulous ...farmhouse accommodation at its best
Beautiful peaceful location, spotless farmhouse style bedroom with every facility you need. Friendly host and a great breakfast. Loved the yoghurt with honey and fresh fruit !

Margaret
August 2018 | Booking.com

"A wonderful B&B near Dartmoor"
a good starting point to explore dartmoor or just relax in the garden with a book and tea
The beautiful and spacious room, the well-kept garden, the very good breakfast and the very sympathetic and helpful hostess.
Everything was perfect.

Petra
August 2018 | Eviivo

Had a lovely stay at Jane's cottage. So peaceful and the surrounding gardens and area is breath taking. Highly recommend.

Lisa
August 2018 | AirBnB

We had a lovely three-day stay in this self-catering cottage. Jane was a super friendly host. The cottage is well thought out and very comfortable. It has everything you need and the large double bed extremely comfortable. The grounds are great for walking and exploring with the dog. The area has lots to offer and this is a good touring base. We enjoyed Roadford Lake and Tavistock and had a beautiful afternoon tea at Lewtrenchard Manor. All in all a lovely relaxing break, thank you Jane!

Sally
August 2018 | AirBnB

Host goes the extra mile to ensure you have a lovely stay

Catharine
August 2018 | Booking.com

This is such a beautiful and peaceful place to stay. I booked this last minute and it exceeded my expectations. This place and host really is and delivers what it says on the tin... The room is spotlessly clean, the bed is incredibly comfortable, breakfast is delicious and there is so much thought put into to everything to make it such a beautiful, welcoming, special place to stay... This is one I will go back to for that weekend away.

Stephanie
August 2018 | Booking.com

Lovely b&b fab little touches, home made biscuits on arrival. Great friendly owner. All that you would hope for in a b&b and more wish we had time to walk the grounds or enjoy the gorgeous summer house .only negative you can hear every movement from the room above(we had the blue room) and the boiler in the bathroom was noisy and a bit whiffy of oil, however, I guess the other rooms don't have the boiler. Super clean and comfy.
Response -
Hello Debbie,
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you have a good stay despite a few issues.
I am glad you mentioned them because it gives me the opportunity to tell you of my winter plans. Every year I work on the least pleasing areas of my home and this year the Blue Room will have a makeover with a new boiler being placed outside and the bathroom being converted to a wet room twice the size of the current bathroom. This will make the room more quieter and the bathroom more useful for families and visitors with disabilities. I will also have a new ceiling put in with sound insulation.
Also in the spring I am planning to deck out the patio area outside the Blue Room to create a private garden to relax and eat in.
This will make the Blue Room fabulous for my visitors and I am very excited to get started !
I hope you get the chance to revisit and check out the improvements.
Kind regards
Jane

Dcoll368
August 2018 | TripAdvisor

Lovely stay at Lobhill Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast. We have stayed here before many years ago and it is just as good, if not better second time around. We have been made to feel very welcome by Jane the host. Lovely little touches, home made fudge and warm homemade biscuits. Would highly recommend. No issues what so ever.

Reid
August 2018 | TripAdvisor

Beautiful stay
This is a very nice property, it was very pretty. The countryside was beautiful. We were made most welcome by our host Jane. Our room was spotless and our bed was lovely and comfy. Lovely big bathroom. The breakfast was delicious. Would stay again without hesitation.

Deneze
August 2018 | Booking.com

This is a truly an outstanding Bed and Breakfast establishment which goes over what one would expect. The proprietor Jane was so warm and welcoming and showed me to my wonderful room which had a lovely balcony over looking the Summer House and the lovely gardens and country side. Jane advised me she was going to bring to my room some fresh milk in a flask for tea and coffee and bake some fresh biscuits which were delightful. Also had some lovely home made fudge in the room too. Delicious. The very large room and bathroom with bath and separate large shower wax spotlessly clean. Plenty of plugs in the room too. The room also had , bathrobes, hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. I have stayed in many bed and breakfast before however this is truly the best I have stayed in by far. The breakfast was cooked freshly in the lovely designed kitchen/ breakfast room with all local produce and home made bread and it was presented 1st class and tasted as good as it looked . Delicious. I cannot wait to return, however would love to stay for a week as it was so amazing. One point to mention. The bed was so comfortable I could have stayed there till lunch time. Thank you Jane as you have a wonderful Business which you should be very proud of. I prefer Bed and Breakfasts than corporate hotels as the atmosphere is more friendly and personal in a Bed and Breakfast. Lobhill Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, I will return very soon. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a quality Bed and Breakfast Thank you. Lord John Collier.

Lord John
August 2018 | Google

Excellent accommodation. Recommend to anyone who enjoys high standards. No criticisms, only praise!

Maurice
August 2018 | Booking.com

My son and I have just spent a week in Devon, staying at the Lobhill Farm, we both felt that Jane was the perfect host! With lovely breakfasts and accommodation in the white room! We thoroughly recommend Lobhill Farmhouse for a warm and inviting place to stay in Devon

Nick
August 2018 | Google

Exceptional

Good breakfast, friendly service, warm welcome

Karla
July 2018 | Booking.com

The welcome was exceptionally warm and so thoughtful. I was given information on arrival about walks to unwind, places to eat and anything else I might need. Breakfast was made to order at a time I chose and I cannot recommend this venue highly enough. The grounds are beautiful too and it is easy to find.

Lisa
August 2018 | Booking.com

Very hospitable reception. Pre order breakfast made to order, personal service from owner. Picturesque location grounds accessible for walks.

Barry
August 2018 | Booking.com

“Loved the area and the house .”

Excellent country farmhouse accommodation with a lovely hostess, and great breakfast.

Carol
August 2018 | Booking.com

The self catered cottage is clean and spacious. The bed was two singles joined together so very wide. The gardens are lovely. Jane was very welcoming and provided lots of useful information on the local area. We enjoyed the wine at her parents vineyard next door and the lake is a lovely peaceful spot. The Cornish Arms in Tavistock is an excellent place for food.

Jen
August 2018 | AirBnB

We had an awesome week and we did some beautiful walks in the surrounding areas! Jane is an excellent host! And the cottage is more than equipped for the two of us and our dog...

Cynthia
August 2018 | AirBnB

Lovely stay!
We spent two very happy days at this B and B. Jane is a superb host and made us feel very welcome in her home. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended! It's situated in a lovely part of Devon and very close to North Cornwall and Dartmoor. Lots to do in the area.

Jay W
August 2018 | TripAdvisor

A lovely little cottage on a quite large estate, with orchards, vineyard, pond, woods and lake! Spotlessly clean, well-equipped. Only downside was that we'd booked it for two days only...

Jo
July 2018 | AirBnB

Liebevoll geführtes B&B am Rande von Dartmoor
Tolles Frühstück, gute Tipps für die Reise, großzügiges Zimmer mit familiärer Einrichtung, liebevoll im Detail

Clemens
July 2018 | Booking.com

This place is wonderful; set in a beautiful part of the country with walks available - I was given a little map on arrival. The house is beautifully clean and decorative, making it feel like a home from home. My room was quiet, the shower was amazing and the bed very comfortable. The welcome I received on arrival was so warm and I was even given homemade biscuits to have with my tea and to 'keep me going until dinner'. Breakfast was made to order and well presented. I feel that a lot of work and effort has gone into making this house a home-from-home and cannot recommend it highly enough!

Lisa
July 2018 | Google

Wish we had a longer stay!
Excellent BandB ! Beautiful gardens and grounds and very comfortable accommodation. We were upgraded to the cottage at no extra charge and Jane couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and ensure we had everything we needed. Will come for longer next time!

maryg
July 2018 | TripAdvisor

Fantastic!
Lobhill farmhouse is a beautiful place with a wonderful owner. It is the epitome of southwestern bliss, and a perfect base for exploring Cornwall, Devon and Dorset in one go. We went there with two children and had a great time.

abockmann
July 2018 | TripAdvisor

Excellent
Absolutely fantastic b&b. Very comfortable room, great breakfast, and a hostess that seems to have thought of everything. The whole place is spotless and the rooms are decorated to a very high standard, and the Wi-Fi works!!

Andy
July 2018 | TripAdvisor

The cottage was maintained to a high standard, had everything you needed and was ideally situated.
It was in a beautiful setting . The garden and property was absolutely idyllic and was a very relaxing environment to have a lovely holiday.

Alison
July 2017 | Booking.com

Really lovely stay! A relaxed vibe and host set in a beautiful area. The cottage has everything you need and lots to see and do in the local area and further a field. Particularly loved the vineyard tour and the grounds around the cottage area.

Leanne
July 2018 | AirBnB

A very nice place to stay, very quiet.
We loved the quietness and the kindness of the host ... The breakfast was very good.

Alain
May 2018 | Booking.com

Lovely place. Clean and nicely decorated. Beautiful grounds. Very welcoming and helpful with a great guestbook with suggestions for places to eat. Nice breakfast

Jen
June 2018 | Booking.com

A beautiful little cottage in the perfect location. The grounds of the cottage are absolutely stunning, we spent half a day exploring the grounds and the vineyard. The information supplied to us was incredibly beneficial. We also loved the tea and fudge waiting for us. We’d highly recommend Jane’s wee cottage. She was a fantastic, professional host. (We also loved the two cats that roamed around the grounds).

Karina
June 2018 | AirBnB

Delightful and we would highly recommend to others.
Jane the owner was absolutely charming and helpful. We had a lovely walk around the property and the adjoining vineyard and lake. And had a picnic in the summerhouse all delightful. Breakfast included homemade preserves which were fabulous.

Sally
June 2018 | Booking.com


"Top Class B & B"
We had a wonderful overnight stay at Lobhill and just wish we could have stayed longer
We enjoyed he homeliness, high standard and welcome

Sheila
June 2018 | Eviivo

Really wonderful self catering cottage. In a beautiful setting, with lovely walks and countryside all open for guest access. The location is perfect for walking the west side of Dartmoor. We walked the River Lyd with great views of Wiggery cross, walked through Lydford Gorge and up Brentor. Fantastic meals at The Castle inn in Lydford, lunch at the fox and hounds and we also got chinese takeaway from Tavistock. The Lydford Farmshop is also lovely!

Gemma
June 2018 | AirBnB

Lovely country retreat
Very quiet - ideal for a good night's sleep. Lovely breakfast - cooked to order. We were greeted with freshly baked cookies + there were lots of different teas to choose from in the room. Fresh milk was supplied in an insulated bottle. Lots of little hearts + mementos in the room. Large garden to sit + enjoy, when the sun is out
We were in the downstairs family room + the bathroom was tiny + very dated. Needs upgrading. We wanted to play cards in the breakfast room, but tables were already laid out in the evening. So we retired to our room with our friend + played there, but very uncomfortable because there was no proper table+chairs, just a very low small sofa + coffee table.

Regina
June 2018 | Booking.com

This is a lovely cottage in the Devon countryside. Easy car trip to many places. Very comfortable bed and quiet. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Sue
June 2018 | AirBnB

Much nicer than the photos, Jane was great and welcoming and the location is stunning.

Andrew
June 2018 | AirBnB

We can highly recommend Lobhill Farmhouse. The rooms are beautifully decorated as is the rest of the house and spotlessly clean. We enjoyed the evening in the surrounding garden. The tea tray in the room is complemented with some fudge - delicious! I recommend to start the breakfast with the yogurt, fresh fruits and honey. Jane is the perfect host - very welcoming and she served us freshly baked cookies. We only wish we could have stayed longer than just one night but we will stay at Lobhill Farmhouse again when in the area.

Isabelle
June 2018 | Google

Having stayed with Jane on more than one occasion I can safely say that you will not be disappointed.

Antony
May 2018 | AirBnB

“My husband and I had an amazing time, the stable was cosy, quiet and beautiful. We enjoyed walking through the the woods and seeing the beautiful nature around. Will absolutely stay again !”

Sam
May 2018 | AirBnB

Nous avons passé un séjour merveilleux dans le cottage. Il s'agit d'une excellente adresse, Jane a vraiment très attentionnée envers nous. Les propositions de ballade étaient parfaites.

Francoise
May 2018 | AirBnB

NigelDelightful Devon B&B with charming host
Had the pleasure of spending 3 nights with Jane at Lobhill Farmhouse in The Green Room, which was beautiful, with a balcony overlooking the garden, a huge bed and wardrobe and lovely bathroom with bath and shower. So missing the delicious cooked breakfast today, but eating Jane's homemade marmalade is a consolation. Lovely grounds to walk in, and have bought wine from the neighbouring vineyard. Highly recommended.

Nigel
May 2018 | TripAdvisor

"Perfect"
Stayed for one night for a family golden wedding, was made to feel very welcome, Room lovely, breakfast lots of choice perfectly cooked.
The welcome we received felt totally at home.

Lynda
May 2018 | Eviivo

..exceeded our expectations...
The welcome was outstanding, the accommodation superb, the breakfast and coffee fantastic.

Stephen
May 2018 | Booking.com

The Best

Te Li
April 2018 | Facebook

We recently had a wonderful three night stay at Lobhill Farmhouse. Jane is the most warm and welcoming hostess and the rooms are very comfortable and clean - made even better by warm homemade chocolate cookies and local fudge! Jane provides a delicious cooked breakfast, which keeps you going for much of the day! The location is stunning and there are plenty of local walks to explore this beautiful part of the world - with Dartmoor on the doorstep. Thank you Jane for sharing your lovely farmhouse home with us - see you in the Autumn!

Carol Keith
May 2018 | Facebook

Comfortable, friendly, delightful.
Not only is Lobhill Farmhouse a beautiful home, it also has a wonderful garden in which we were able to enjoy a glass of wine from the local (next door) vineyard. A sunny evening, a real delight. Also LOTS of really good local places to eat. Thank you Jane.

Fiona
April 2018 | Booking.com

Absolutely perfect weekend at Lobhill farm. Thanks Jane.

Ollie
April 2018 | AirBnB

Lobhill Farmhouse is the perfect place to stay. The house is very clean and inviting and the rooms (we stayed in King Double) are cosy, warm and comfortable. All Goodies provided - tea, coffee and yummy home made cookies and fudge. Best of all is the host. Jane made us feel at home and made sure that we had a great stay. Superb breakfast included fresh fruits and best full English ever. It was our second visit to Lobhill Farm and it will not be our last!

Carol
April 2018 | Google

This cottage is perfect! It is a beautiful property with access to gorgeous gardens and walks. The cottage was very clean and well equipped. The bed was huge and very comfortable! Jane was lovely. We didn't want to leave, and are looking forward to returning!

Melanie
April 2018 | AirBnB

Very welcoming, peaceful location, excellent facilities and lovely breakfast

Carl
April 2018 | Booking.com

Lovely setting and walks around the estate. Pristine room. Delicious Breakfast. Home baked biscuits on arrival.

Jenny
April 2018 | Booking.com

Fully recommended
Lovely house and extensive garden and woodlands
Rooms were very clean, well appointed and spacious
Wide choice of breakfasts
Welcoming hostess
Downstairs bedroom was ideal for mother of 86 who doesn’t do stairs anymore!
Very happy to return and recommend.
Only regrets are that we only had two nights and the weather didn’t allow walking in the grounds and woodland
Will be back

Paul
April 2018 | TripAdvisor

Great cottage on beautiful land, kitchen was well equipped, even a couple of board games, books and DVD’s if you need them.

Sara
April 2018 | AirBnB

Jane provides a very well equipped self-contained cottage for a pleasant and cozy stay. The location was excellent as a base for people who intend to explore Devon and Cornwall by car, however there is also plenty offered by foot around the property itself. The property is well centred, close to Dartmoor National Park and comes with plenty of information provided by Jane for tips on what to do nearby. Communication was excellent and the cottage was clean, comfortable and has everything you need. Very good stay!

Devon
March 2018 | AirBnB

Exceptional choice - very friendly and great accommodation
I stayed here on a Padstow to Lyme Regis cycle ride. I anticipated needing a bath so booked the cottage - great choice! Well equipped separate cottage with full facilities, bath and kitchen plus lounge area. The hosts were very friendly, the booking was simple to make and the service fantastic. There was a secure garage to lock my bike in.

After I had got changed and bathed, Jane drove me down to the local pub for a pretty good steak and chips and her husband kindly picked me up.

The next morning saw a very good breakfast - exceptional, very tasty local ingredients and a nice relaxed atmosphere. I can’t recommend Lobhill highly enough. Thanks guys - I made it to Lyme!

Tony
April 2018 | TripAdvisor

I would definitely stay here again without a doubt!
Room was beautifully decorated, shower was sublime. The whole house was superb and the host Jane, was absolutely lovely. The little touches like having a candle lit for breakfast as I was on my own - how thoughtful. The food choices and quality were top notch.

Ali
April 2018 | Booking.com

“A fantastic little cottage fully equipped for a self catered stay. The grounds are wonderful and you could spend a week just enjoying the local area. We got out and about to the coast and moors which are only 40 minutes away. Great location, great cosy cottage and a kind, considerate host. Thanks for everything!”

Toby
March 2018 | AirBnB

The bed and breakfast and the service was excellent.
Jane was very accommodating and able to be flexible with our arrival circumstances.

Richard
February 2018 | Booking.com

Lovely place, lovely surroundings, well kept apartment, and a little jar of fudge to top it all off - will stay again

Rob
January 2018 | AirBnB

What a gem!
Spent the night at Lobhill Farmhouse, we stayed in the green room. Lovely big room, light & airy. The bed was very comfortable.
Big big bathroom with both shower & bath.

Avid-Myrtle
January 2018 | Tripadvisor

The cottage was the perfect quiet retreat that we were looking for. The woodlands and lake on the site were a beautiful added extra on the doorstep. Great communication before and during our stay to make sure we had everything we needed. Would highly recommend a stay here!

Holly
January 2018 | AirBnB

“My boyfriend and I booked the cottage for my birthday weekend. It was perfect for us to explore Dartmoor and the surrounding areas. We were warmly greeted upon arrival. The warm cosy cottage was perfect for us and we loved the big comfortable bed! Would recommend to anyone wishing to explore Dartmoor!”

Jimmer
December 2017 | AirBnB

Soggiorno indimenticabile
Struttura molto accogliente signore gentilissime e molto disponibili io viaggiavo con mia madre disabile mi hanno fatto trovare le rampe il seggiolino per la doccia la massima libertà di movimento grande parcheggio e ottima colazione molto pulito vorremmo ritornarci

Carla
November 2017 | Booking.com

Would highly recommend to anyone.
Beautiful house, very quiet and peaceful with information for taking a walk around the local area. The owner was very friendly and welcoming and had placed a little pack of homemade fudge in the room. Just gorgeous.

Shirley
October 2017 | Booking.com

Great hostess, breakfeast was more than adequate and the room was ideal. They have land around so you can go walking with nice local pubs. I would most certainly recommend you staying and we were made most welcome with nothing being too much trouble. Could not have asked for more!

Mark
October 2017 | Google

Delightful farmhouse set in beautiful countryside
We received a very warm welcome from Jane which include freshly made, still warm, homemade cookies. Our bedroom was so prettily furnished. It was an excellent base for our planned trip to visit National Trust properties in the area. Would highly recommend a stay at Lobhill Farmhouse.

Maureen
October 2018 | TripAdvisor

I really loved staying here Jane was very friendly & I really felt I was at home

Travis
September 2017 Booking.com

Perfect place for a quiet country getaway and a perfect place to stay. Beautiful property with everything you could need, and Jane was a delightful helpful host. Will definitely return.

Stephen
September 2017 | AirBnB

Lovely accommodation, cosy and very clean with everything you need. Fabulous comfortable huge bed and super fluffy towels. Jane was very welcoming and provided milk so we could have a cuppa when we arrived and gave us access to a secure shed for our bikes. We chose Lobhill to be close to Dartmoor as we had already planned our whole weekend meeting friends and mountain biking. The location was perfect for us and although we didn't get chance to experience the walk through the wood and over to the vineyard the view from the decked area at the front of the cottage was quite something. There was a book with plenty of places to eat, we went to the Dartmoor Inn which was excellent, good food, good service and good beer.

Cath
September 2017 | AirBnB

A beautiful house amongst stunning countryside!
We stayed for one night and, as dog owners, were given the self-catering cottage, which was ideal for us. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable, warm, very well decorated and furnished, and with the biggest double bed we had ever seen. Breakfast was served in the farmhouse kitchen and was excellent. There was ample space for dog walking within the grounds of Lobhill Farmhouse, with beautiful views, and a map of the grounds was supplied in the very useful information folder, which also gave a wide choice of local places to eat. We chose The White Hart in Bridestowe which was fine, and also dog friendly. Overall this was an excellent stay and we look forward to returning.

David
September 2017 | TripAdvisor

The hostess with the mostess for this wheelchair user!
This interesting farmhouse is run by the most delightful owner, prepared to go the extra mile for the comfort of her guests and to enhance their holiday experience. Nothing is too much trouble.When I contacted her to establish what her facilities were for disabled guests it quickly became apparent that although she had a very large room on the ground floor there were several steps to enter the property, the shower did not have a shower-seat and was not a roll in shower. She set about researching these issues thoroughly and by the time of my arrival had in place two magnificent ramps to cope with the challenging entrance and a free-standing shower seat identical to my own. Having used these facilities I can report that the shower did have a small lip, the toilet was high which suited me but that the floor of the shower was extremely slippery. I advised her concerning rubber slip resistant mats and am in no doubt that these will now be in place. The rooms were spotless and well maintained.Good parking area behind the farmhouse and away from the gravel.
The breakfasts were very good indeed offering top quality produce and home made jams and bread from the Aga and she is an excellent cook with her famous biscuits and fudge.
The farmhouse is cosy and welcoming; the interior displays crafts, antiques and memorabilia and is worth a morning's inspection and discussion to set the scene for the locality. My bedroom had lovely views of the large garden and fields where there were seating areas for guests.
The useful information manual provided her recommendations for evening meals with directions. I found it rather a challenge to successfully negotiate the country lanes and did keep getting lost, aggravated by darkness and mist crossing Dartmoor on returning!
Highly recommended.

Ghb33
September 2017 | TripAdvisor

Very welcoming host, comfortable and relaxing room
Cozy and comfortable

Sarah
September 2017 Booking.com

"Wonderful stay at superb farm accommodation."
We stayed at Lobhill Farm for 3 nights in order to make a return visit to Dartmoor. The wonderfully quiet location makes for a very relaxing holiday and yet it is convenient for visits to local places and good pubs close by for evening meals. Our host Jane is delightful and made us feel very welcome and she prepares a superb breakfast in the farmhouse kitchen. The bedroom was very comfortable with all modern facilities.
Superb location with good views. A lot of garden and land to walk around, including over to the family vinyard.
Very flexible breakfast times and wonderful breakfast. Thank you Jane.

Jane
September 2017 | Eviivo

"Quality speaks"
We stayed overnight prior to moving to a new house. Lobhill offers warm, clean and comfortable accommodation and very warm hospitality. Great choice for breakfast

Anthony
September 2017 | Eviivo

Jane's cottage was lovely, and Jane herself was extremely kind. She arranged for us to stay an extra night at the last minute, had many recommendations for what to do on a Sunday, and even sold us some fresh eggs for breakfast! The setting was picturesque, and the rooms and beds were clean and incredibly comfortable. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay, and we hope to be able to visit again some day.

Mallory
September 2017 | AirBnB

Amazing B&B in great location
We chose Lobhill as it was very close to where our friend was getting married.

We could not have chosen a better place to stay. Lobhill is clean, beautiful, the views and grounds are stunning and the rooms are very comfortable.

Jane was very welcoming, made us the most delicious welcome cookies and a lovely breakfast.

Thank you very much for making our stay so wonderful! We would come again and definitely recommend it!

PreeG
September 2017 | TripAdvisor

Best b&b I've stayed in
Friendliness of host comfy bed and a well cooked breakfast in fact there was was nothing I could fault while I was staying there 11 out of 10

Andrew
September 2017 Booking.com

A lovely little cottage where Jane has gone out of her way to make it a perfect stay, with milk and fudge on arrival, and allowing us to roam her parents' vineyard. The grounds and summer house are beautiful and a great place for a little lunch and stroll. This delightful cottage is at the corner of the B&B car park and Jane was on hand to help with anything needed.

Daniel
September 2017 | AirBnB

We had a such a great stay at Jane's place. It was a lovely, cozy cottage with great touches. We enjoyed having a cup of tea and snacking on the delicious fudge she provided. The grounds are quintessentially English and absolutely stunning. We loved our walks through the gardens and woods. A car is essential to reach the local restaurants and villages. This is a great place for a quiet holiday away and we hope to be back sometime in the future.

Caitlin
September 2017 | AirBnB

Jane the owner is fabulous. She goes out of her way to ensure that the stay is excellent. Her place is super clean and beautiful. Though we couldn't explore the surrounding area as it was raining and we had a long journey ahead of us but we could clearly say it would be gorgeous !!!

Astha
September 2017 Booking.com

Really cosy cottage in a beautiful location. There are a few walks around the cottage itself and some great places to explore nearby. Jane had really helpful information on the nearby places to eat and visit. Great stay!

James
September 2017 | AirBnB

Great country stay not far from town.
Great location and host made me feel welcome

Roger
September 2017 | Booking.com

Lovely friendly B&B
We were welcomed by Jane the owner who led us to our lovely room (the green room). our room was bright and airy, as was the en-suite. The house and grounds are beautiful. Breakfast, cooked in the Aga by Jane, is served in the lovely breakfast area adjoining the kitchen, and was extremely tasty. Jane is a wonderful host who loves what she does, is very friendly and helpful and has a gorgeous home which she allows others to share albeit for a short while.

Carole W
August 2017 | TripAdvisor

family wedding
Three of us had travelled down from staffordshire for a family wedding for 3 days, my son and his family had stayed here previously and we booked on his recommendation.
My wife is disabled and we have to use a wheelchair to get around, we had the downstairs family room which was a mini suite with double bed a single bed and a separate room with a cot. There was plenty of room to manoeuvre the wheelchair and we found the access into the bathroom to be easy, and we had the added bonus of a twoseater settee.
My sister had a twin bedded room which she described as "beautiful" which applies to our bedroom as well. The whole house was in excellent decorative order and spotlessly clean, everything was colour coordinated and tastefully done, we have come away with a few ideas for ourselves "mix and match" china ware.
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and Jane was able to arrange breakfast in our room on a tray for my wife to enjoy to her own comfort.
We found Jane to be warm,friendly and welcoming with a particular sensitivity for our disabled situation.
The location was was very good and plenty of space for parking.
We all a very good time and look forward to visiting again.

Wieslaw
August 2017 | TripAdvisor

I regret that I am slightly late in writing this review, as my lovely stay at Lobhill Farmhouse warranted an instant review, rather than this month late one. I can only say that my stay there was perfect; the room and building was amazing, the breakfast delicious, and Jane was very personable and an excellent and kind host. Unfortunately my girlfriend who was supposed to be travelling with me was unable to do so, so now we both have an excuse to go back and stay again, which we will definitely do. I cannot say enough about how nice and welcoming Jane was, including only charging for myself when I had booked for 2. She also makes an incredibly delicious breakfast. The room was clean and spacious, with beautiful furnishings and some delicious fudge to nibble on. I highly recommend Lobhill Farmhouse.

Tom
August 2017 | Google

We stayed in the Self Catering detached 1 bedroom accommodation, which was very well appointed with a large bedroom and bed. All was clean and tidy. Jane allowed us to walk in her and her parent's grounds which is quite extensive and we spent time in Jane's Somerhouse of an evening. Overall a delightful stay. Recommend it.

Jane, thanks for providing us with a great base to explore the superb countryside, Dartmoor, Lydford Gorge & Roadford Lake are particularly lovely. Your well appointed accommodation was all we could have asked for.

Stephen
August 2017 | AirBnB

Would recommend. - All you expect and more from a B@B with nice extra touches.
Ultra clean and brightly decorated room. Great cooked breakfast that was pre ordered the night before. Extra touches were the freshly made hot biscuits for us and home made fudge. Fresh cold milk provided in a small thermos to go with the plentiful varied teas and coffees with the in room tea making facilities. Makes a change from the long-life milk pods normally found.

Vikki
August 2017 | Booking.com

Superb in every way, bedroom, location, welcome, couldn't be better.

Celia
August 2017 | Booking.com

Best stay ever
This is most definitely the best B&B we have stayed in ever. The owner is delightful and welcomed us with a warm cookie:) everything was perfect, the room, the beds, the fudge:), the shower(could have stayed in it all day), the breakfast (as good as any 5 star hotel) thoroughly recommend it. Thank you Jane, you really made the start of our holiday special:))

Ruttle 19
August 2017 | TripAdvisor

Wonderful stay, couldn't do enough for us. Gluten free breakfast for Andy. Arrived late due to traffic! Amazing, need to visit again to soak it up as just passing through! Thanks to the lovely hostess from Shirley, Andy and Geraldine x

Shirley
August 2017 | TripAdvisor

“petite maison indépendante dans la cour de la ferme. Très bien équipée, très calme, séjour très agréable.”

Mariette
August 2017 | AirBnB

Very nice short stay experience near the moors !
The location is great (both for the moors and the coast), room very nicely designed with all these little details which make the experience even better. Very nice gardens around the house even though the weather did not allow us to fully benefit ! Breakfast was very nice (the form to pre-order breakfast can be confusing as we guessed it was one column per person ?) but we loved the home made bread and other home made ingredients. The kitchen and breakfast room is very warm and very nicely set up. The only piece of advise really, compared to other B&B I have been to, would be for Jane to pro-actively ask guests if they need any advice for their day in the moors or on the coast, things to see, places to visit, especially as the weather was poor. Overall a very nice experience and very happy to recommend Lobhill farm !

Jacques 1710
August 2017 | TripAdvisor

“Delightful owner, lovely location”
Needing somewhere at short notice to stay and came across this place where the blue room was available at £170 for 2 nights stay. On arrival we were met by the owner Jane, shown our room, offered fresh milk and was informed warm biscuits would be delivered shortly, yummy they were too. The room was large with both a double and single bed on offer. The bathroom was a good size with only a shower but that worked wonderfully. A booklet was provided in the room of local attractions and eateries which came in very handy as we used two of the places listed. Breakfast was great, fruit, cereal, full English and toast. Only negative was that breakfast was ordered the night before so had to gauge how hungry you would be. Location is lovely, if weather and time permitted we would have enjoyed the walks and location even better. A very pleasant stay in a lovely location, thank you Jane.

Alan
August 2017 | TripAdvisor

A lovely B&B situated in picturesque surroundings, with good rooms, friendly & helpful owner, and a very nice breakfast!

Harry
August 2017 | Google

Country b & b as it should be
Beautiful house and grounds. Friendly and warm welcome. Great local knowledge and recommendations. Delicious breakfast.

Alex
August 2017 | Booking.com

"A lovely place to stay"
Received a warm welcome from Jane on arrival and shown to a lovely clean and bright room with some nice touches including local information.The farmhouse is surrounded by lovely gardens and my stay was finished off with a most enjoyable breakfast.You will not regret staying at Lobhill Farmhouse, I hope to stay again when I am next in the area.

Anthony
July 2017 | TripAdvisor

On arrival I received a warm welcome from Jane and show to my room which was very clean bright and comfortable, a lot of care had been taken preparing the room with useful information on the area. The farmhouse is surrounded by lovely gardens and my stay was finished off with a most enjoyable breakfast. I would highly recommend this accommodation and hope to stay again when I am next in the area.

Anthony
July 2017 | Google

"Our adventures"
Booked into Lobhill farmhouse on route to Spain as we didn't want to stay in Plymouth. How glad we were that we made that decision. A real friendly greeting on arrival by Jane after an awfully long journey. Smiles were put on our faces as we indulged in her fantastic home made cream tea and beautiful chocolate cookies all warm from the oven...heaven...had a wonderful nights sleep in a beautiful bed with luxurious linens. Then the breakfast Wow just wonderful home made produce even down to the bread. We left with full bellies and a grin from ear to ear already planning our trip to return. Totally wonderful thank you Jane.

Lisa
July 2017 | TripAdvisor

Spent three days here with my son. An excellent base for walking in the Devon countryside - the green fields and Dartmoor. Also cycling on a nearby former train track. The farmhouse was set in pleasant grounds with a Devon vineyard adjacent for those with a curiosity for English wine. The rooms were pleasant with rural views all round and Jane a first-class hostess, always ready to give advice and to ferry us to and from the various starting points for our walks. A great time was had by all.

Ralph
July 2017 | Google

Superb
You won't go wrong by staying here. Jane is a wonderful host in her lovely home. The gardens are fantastic and as you drive in from the road into a tranquil setting you know you've come to the right place. The room was bright and airy, the bathroom was spotless, the shower was hot, breakfast was sumptuous. Will definitely stay again
Thank you

thunderbirdsarego1
July 2017 | TripAdvisor

Jane is a delightful host and the cottage met our needs perfectly. Comfortable bed and good shower. Very interesting to learn about the family's new vineyard and great that you can be walking on Dartmoor in just 15 minutes.

Andrew
July 2017 | AirBnB

"Exceptional"
Delightful accommodation in substantial grounds well worth exploring
Totally professional friendly owner went out of her way to make our stay a pleasure. If you want to find out how a B&B should be run then this is the place! First class breakfast.

Kimble
July 2017 | Eviivo

"Wonderful country break with all the comforts of home"
A one nights stay to visit friends nearby, Lobhill came highly recommended and justifiably so. The room was beautiful and elegant yet cosy and welcoming, the breakfast was divine and the hostess just the right level of friendliness

Alan
July 2017 | Eviivo

Fabulous find!
This B&B looked great on the website but was even better than imagined! Loved every minute! There were new & interesting surprises all the time. We took a walk through the woods, around the lake, through the beautiful gardens to the Vineyard. Needless to say the beds were comfy & the room cosy! Thank you for a lovely time Jane & family.

Liz
July 2017 | Booking.com

"All too brief"
I stayed at Lobhill last year and needed to stay again en route for Falmouth. I pre-arranged to arrive very late and to leave promptly and Jane could not have been more helpful and flexible.
Fitted in to my trip plan perfectly thanks to Jane's flexibility. It gave me a peaceful rest in the midst of a hectic schedule. The breakfast was fresh and yummy too. All round perfect.

Euan
June 2017 | Eviivo

Great stay. Would recommend walking over to the vineyard next door!

James
June 2017 | AirBnB

Great location, surroundings, very friendly owner, cosy room, good breakfast, proper WiFi, definitely recommend this property to anyone who is looking to spend some quiet time in beautiful Devon County. My kids enjoyed being outside, exploring the area and making a small camp fire in the evenings.

Sander
June 2017 | Booking.com

Fantastic friendly service, really nice room clean with a good shower, delicious home cooked breakfast

Eamonn
June 2017 | Google


AA 4 star bed and breakfast Devon Reviews:

Are you looking for a Devon AA 4 star bed and breakfast near Okehampton, Launceston, Tavistock and Dartmoor? I also have Self Catering Holiday Cottage Accommodation near Dartmoor on the Lobhill Estate.

Copyright © 2018 Lobhill Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast Devon